Religion and (medical) Drugs

s.b.f —

The Health Department are generally always trying to tailor around their Patient's need ( I know that this does not always happen).

So earlier this year, the publication that was printed:
Religion and Belief: A practical guide for the NHS.

I'm just scanning through some writing, and it says here:

In the United Kingdom, the right to follow your religion and beliefs is protected under article 9 of the Human Rights Act 1998, which covers freedom of thought, conscience, and religion.

I didn't know this but people who follow the Jehovah's Witness refuse blood products because of their beliefs.

Anyway, coming back to what I really made this thread for:

- It occured to me just now (yes, I am slow), that there are many vaccinations I have taken in the past.

- It never occured to me at the time whilst having these injections about whether what is going inside me is halaal or haraam.

- Reading this paper, I find that the MMR jab, is a Porcine drug.

- A porcine drug is something from a Pig.

- Iv had the MMR jab twice in my life.

- Also, alcohol is found in creams and formulations.

- In 2007, there was a debate, after someone from the Head of the Islamic Medical Association and UK NHS psychiatrist, and also Muslim advised British Muslims not to have the MMR jab, because it was 'full of haraam substances'.

So what do you think people?

1) If you dont have the vaccinations, you are yourself or your children are left vulnerable to these diseases.

2) However, if you have the vaccinations, you are inserting haraam products into your system.

What is more important?

Yoplait Yop yogurt drink - HARAAAAAMMMM!!!!!!?

You —

From You to Yop:

Hi there,

I was wondering about the ingredients of the Yop yogurt drinks, specifically the strawberry flavour.

I have seen it listed online as "suitable for vegetarians" but on the bottle it says that it contains cochineal.

I am a muslim and am wondering if this is suitable for consumtion under islamic dietary laws, so as much information as possible would be much appreciated.

Thanks

and from Yop to You:

Dear You

Thank you for contacting Yoplait.

In September, the recipe and packaging of Yop was changed - the artificial colour additives (E122, E124, E151) were removed and replaced with natural colours. This change unfortunately means the product is no longer suitable for vegetarians.

The ingredient list does clearly state that the product contains cochineal, which, though a natural colour, is not suitable for vegetarians (as you have stated). I can confirm the website has been changed and this was completed some time ago.

We are reviewing Yop for the feasibility of a vegetarian version; however this has not yet been confirmed.

We would like to send you a product voucher as a gesture of goodwill. If you would like to receive this please send us your full mailing address and which product you would prefer.

If you have any further questions, please call on 08456 011 012 or you can email us at enquiries@petitsfilous.co.uk

Kind regards,

[name removed]

(yeeah, I replaced my name in there with You...)

Tags