Do you eat from Greggs?

Yes
59% (39 votes)
No
41% (27 votes)
Total votes: 66

There is controversy about Greggs, on their website they state:

We always advise our customers that our non-meat food is produced in the same environment as food containing meat. Savouries are baked in the same shop ovens as our meat-based savouries; hence we do not advertise them as being vegetarian.

The question is if there is a willful disregard to cross contamination or reasonable are is taken.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

We always advise our customers that our non-meat food is produced in the same environment as food containing meat. Savouries are baked in the same shop ovens as our meat-based savouries; hence we do not advertise them as being vegetarian.

From what i have seen in Greggs shops. There is only on Oven in most of their outlets. So bread and meat products will have to be baked in the same oven [to have two ovens would not be cost effective.]

So the above warning makes it quite clear of the situation. "we do not advertise them as being vegetarian."

Or is this a back door to try to say that Greggs products are not Halal and Greggs should only sell Halal meat products? Or are you planning a campaign to boycott Greggs by Muslims?

You have a simple choice don't use Greggs. Subway have now gone Halal [but don't advertise the fact] in face of pressure. Hence the sale of Turkey Ham? instead of bacon.

What will the next objection be? Close all fish and chip shops or transport cafes that do all day traditional breakfasts.

If so should donar kebab shops all be boycotted by non-muslims on health grounds, have you seen how much fat you get frm a donar? They maybe tasty, but they should come with a health warning.

 

Subways have halaal and non-halaal shops, and the halaal ones are often advertised that way because it attracts more niche custom.

Greggs is an interesting case. The quoted bit in my last post was referring to why they dont label some stuff as vegetarian.

Some people take this stance as it being something better to avoid, others think that its fine.

As Greggs are not advertised as suitable for vegetarians, the question is would they take the time to swap/clean utensils for making different products - afterall, they advertise they are not suitable for vegetarians so its not like they need to.

btw, when places like subways started opening halaal outlets, I was surprised at the method used - no one asked them to have halaal only stores. Having a halaal range in a non halaal store would probably have been accepted by most, but they decided to go above and beyond.

It does make things simpler and allows les chance of inexperiences members of staff mixing products, so its much appreciated.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

The staff are not trained to understand the question. I used to enjoy the occasional hot pasty and one time popped into a Greggs and asked if the cheese was vegetarian. For about 2 minutes nobody was willing to go into the back and have a look at the packaging (it was vegetarian cheese) because they thought I was an idiot. "Cheese. Is. Vegetarian." is what they kept saying, smirking. (Cheese increasingly is vegetarian but traditional methods used by a lot of dairy farms still source rennet from the stomach of a calf.)

I have to be fairly desperate to trust anywhere with my dietary requirements and Greggs, although the cheese was vegetarian, failed to impress.

  • It can never be satisfied, the mind, never. -- Wallace Stevens

I have been told that they have started to mark some products (including cheese & onion pasties) as suitable for vegetarians.

"For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'" - David Cameron, UK Prime Minister. 13 May 2015.

If you think something is haram then don't eat it. In my lifetime I must have eaten more gelatine then any non Muslim but now I know it's haram I avoid it. I just thought I'd share that with you 

I didnt know about the one oven thing. I think I've eaten there a couple of time. but knowing this I will probably avoid.

Is it true? Is it kind? Is it necessary?